Exploring Extreme Music and Marginalized Communities Bibliography

This book provides an ethnographic approach to grindcore scenes in Japan and Australia beginning in 2003. It examines location, belonging, cultural identity, and feminism within the genre.

Rverell, R. (2014). Affective intensities in extreme music scenes cases from Australia and Japan. Palgrave Macmillan.

A collection of stories that looks at the intersection of contemporary black metal and the LGBTQ+ community.

Lukes, D., Panayotov, S. (Eds.). (2021). Black metal rainbows. PM Press.

This books examines the beginnings of the riot grrrl music genre in the early 90s, combining punk, grunge, and feminist politics. The genre also went beyond music as it led to the creation of zines and conferences.

Marcus, S. (2010). Girls to the front: The true story of the riot grrrl revolution. HarperCollins.

Exploration of heavy metal in various African countries, that focuses on performers and fans.

Banchs, E. (2016). Heavy metal Africa: Life, passion and heavy metal in the forgotten continent. United States: Word Association Publishers.

This book explores heavy metal through the lens of several Middle Eastern and north African countries, and how it can used to challenge politics and local cultures.

Levine, M. (2008). Heavy metal Islam. Broadway Books.

This book explores the role of heavy metal in Latin America. Chapters include exploration of Latin American metal as an academic study, the development of the genre in countries during conflict, the role of music in decolonization, and how it cultivate a culture of resistance.

Varas-Diaz, N., Araujo, D. N. & Rivera-Sergarra, E (Eds.). (2021). Heavy Metal Music In Latin America. Lexington Books.

This book examines underground music and subcultures in 1990s Bali, providing a historical context between growing global media influences and the waning of the 30 year Suharto regime.
Baulch, E. (2007). Making scenes: Reggae, punk, and death metal in 1990s Bali. Duke University Press.

This book looks at women participating into the punk subculture, based on 40 interviews with women between the ages of 17-37. It is provides research into subcultures, yet may be dated and more useful for historical context.

Leblanc, L. (1999). Pretty in punk: Girls' gender resistance in a boys' subculture. Rutgers University Press.

Edited book with entries that examine punk from a global perspective, looking at specific geographic scenes and histories.

Dines, M. et al. (2019). The punk reader. Intellect Books.

Punk Women highlights women involved in the punk genre, spanning over 40 years. It contains profiles and interviews of such bands as Crass, Tribe 8, Spitboy, Melt Banana, and more.

Ensminger, D.A. (2021). Punk women: 40 years of musicians who built punk rock. Microcosm Publishing.

The companion book to the documentary film, Queercore, which outlines the contributions of LGBTQ+ musicians, artists, film makers, and activists to punk, riot grrrl, hardcore, and related genres. It examines the history of early punk scenes, starting in Toronto, to Los Angeles, and San Francisco, and the early acceptance of marginalized peoples into those subcultures.

Breedlove, L. (2021). Queercore: How to punk a revolution: An oral history. PM Press.

A deep dive into the zine J.D.s that looks at punk subculture through the lens of queer theory, challenging both mainstream culture and subculture punk scenes.

Nault, C. (2017). Queercore. Routeledge.

This book examines heavy metal scholarship through the lens of gender and sexuality, focusing on the subculture, fans, performers, and spaces.

Clifford-Napoleone, A. R. (2015). Queerness in heavy metal music: Metal bent. Taylor & Francis.

This book is a historical overview of female contributions to the punk genre of music, beginning with X-Ray Spex lead singer, Poly Styrene through Patti Smith, contemporary Russian punk group, Pussy Riot and more. Goldman, a music journalist, connects how punk was an empowering movement for women that began in the United Kingdom and continues internationally.

Goldman, V. (2019). Revenge of the she-punks: A feminist music History from Poly Styrene to Pussy Riot. University of Texas Press.

Shotgun Seamstress was a zine created and written by Osa Atoe that highlights the work of Black and queer musicians, artists, and activists. This collection contains issues 1-6, and features interviews, scene reports, and more.

Atoe, O. (2012). Shotgun seamstress zine collection . Mend My Dress Press.

This is a memoir by Michelle Cruz Gonzales, a Xiana musician and drummer of Bay Area defunct anarcho-punk band, Spitboy. The book explores Gonzales' upbringing in northern California to performing and touring with Spitboy, as the only person of color in the band.

Gonzales, M. C. (2016). The Spitboy rule: Tales of a Xicana in a female punk band. PM Press.

Tranny is the autobiography of Laura Jane Grace, a transgender woman who is the lead singer of punk band, Against Me!. The book takes readers through Grace's life and the formation of the band, intersecting one's personal discovery and music.

Grace, L. J. (2016). Tranny: Confessions of punk rock's most infamous anarchist sellout.Hachette Books.

Sequel to the punk reader with chapters that focuses on international punk scenes and identities.

Bestley, R., et al. (2021). Trans-global punk scenes. Intellect Books.

Violence Girl is the autobiography of Alice Armendariz, known as Alice Bag, who was a co-founder of the The Bags, a late 70s Los Angeles based punk group that helped usher in the hardcore sound. The biography describes her upbringing in east L.A. and her Mexican/Mexican-American heritage, as well as women participating in the southern California punk scene.

Bag, A. (2011). Violence girl: East L.A. rage to Hollywood stage : A Chicana punk story. Feral House.

What Are You Doing Here is Canadian music writer and Columbia University ethnomusicology PhD candidate Laina Dawes' personal exploration of Black women participating in metal, punk, and hardcore bands. The book also examines racism, race relations between Black and "white-centric" music, and female empowerment.

Dawes, L. (2012). What are you doing here? A Black woman's life and liberation in heavy metal. Bazillion Points.

This book is a collection of interviews, letters, and essays from musicians that discuss race and punk.

Duncombe, S. and Tremblay, M. (Eds.). (2011). White riot: Punk rock and the politics of race. Verso.