Mental Health Awareness

Creative, fun & fast therapeutic warm-ups! When a client walks into the therapy room they don't know what to expect-feeling anxious, unsure and perhaps fearful. Brief, art therapy warm-ups are the perfect way to break the ice and get clients feeling comfortable, less inhibited, and motivated to participate in individual or group therapy.

Activating Happiness really feeling better, instead of just reassuring others. You'll learn to set healthy goals for your body like eating and sleeping well, as well as healthy goals for your mind. Most importantly, you'll discover how to view your life through the lens of your own deepest values, which will spark a commitment to real, lasting change. The best thing about change is that you can start anywhere. By building a life--moment by moment--of rewarding behaviors that correspond to your values, you have the recipe for getting and staying well at your fingertips. This book will guide your way.

This book explores Asian art therapist experiences in a predominantly white professional field, challenging readers with visceral, racial, and personalized stories that may push them far beyond their comfort zone.

The basic premise of bibliotherapy is that information, guidance, wellbeing and solace can be found through reading. This book draws on the latest international practical and theoretical developments in bibliotherapy to explore how librarians, healthcare providers and arts organizations can best support the health and wellbeing of their communities.

Blackeyed is a collection of plays and monologues. The topics covered in the book include housing and foreclosure, suicide, assault, mental health, the Black male experience, and more.

Novel in its approach and unique in its scope, Black Mental Health: Patients, Providers, and Systems examines the role of African Americans within American psychiatric health care from distinct but interconnected perspectives. The experiences of both black patients and the black mental health professionals who serve them are analyzed against the backdrop of the cultural, societal, and professional forces that have shaped their place in this specialized health care arena.

It is increasingly challenging for teachers to educate without a deeper understanding of the experience of their students. This is particularly the case in marginalized groups of young people who are subject to loss, grief, trauma and shame.

Providing theory and practical interventions, this book is the perfect companion to creative arts therapy students and professionals who wish to work with the LGBTQ community and the unique challenges that sexual minorities, transgender and gender non-conforming (TGNC) clients face today.

The authors examine how music therapy is relevant within an individual's cultural context through personal and scholarly explorations.

Although books on the cultural aspects of mental health already exist, Cultural Psychiatry With Children, Adolescents, and Families is one of only a few to focus specifically on the role of culture in mental health assessment, diagnosis, and care of children, adolescents, and their families. In the United States, more than 50% of children younger than 15 years identify as nonwhite, a designation that comprises many ethnicities and cultural backgrounds.

Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population.

Diagnosing Folklore provides an inclusive forum for an expansive conversation on the sensitive, raw, and powerful processes that shape and imbue meaning in the lives of individuals and communities beleaguered by medical stigmatization, conflicting public perceptions, and contextual constraints.

Mood disorders, like depression, bipolar disorder, and dysthymia, are common psychological illnesses that occur worldwide and across the life-span. There is a growing consensus among mental health clinicians and researchers that culture and cultural context are often key determinants in mood disorder prevention and outcome.

In analyzing Ellenberger's contributions Delille unveils the transnational and interdisciplinary origins of transcultural psychiatry, which grew out of knowledge networks that crisscrossed the globe. The book has a rich selection of appendices, including Ellenberger's lecture notes on a case of peyote addiction and his correspondence with anthropologist and psychoanalyst Georges Devereux.

Distinguished and celebrated professor and author, Dr. Kevin Nadal, explains in thorough detail the mental health issues facing many Filipino Americans today.

Recognizing Frantz Fanon's remarkable legacy to applied mental health and therapeutic practices which decolonize, humanize, and empower marginalized populations, this text serves as a timely call for research, education, and clinical work to establish and further develop Fanonian approaches and practices.

Psychiatry has developed a number of tools to help manage symptoms of mental disorders, broadly categorized as psychotherapy, or ""talk therapy"", and psychopharmacology, or ""medications"". One question left open in this regard, though, is what to do after those symptoms are controlled? How can those with depression be helped to build a better life after the remission of symptoms? Weaving together Positive Psychology and Aristotelian philosophy, this book details an approach to creating a path towards a flourishing life. Building on the two translations of the Greek term ""Arete"", virtue and.

Critical for all those who are in the field of psychology to own, refer to, and use. No longer are diversity and gender issues considered to be on the periphery as they once were ... one would be remiss in not considering these factors in psychology.

The book draws attention to some important factors that contribute to the happiness of people, such as: relational values, human relations, solidarity networks, the role of the family, and the availability and gratifying using of leisure time. In a world where happiness is acquiring greater relevance as a final social and personal aim both the academic community and the social-actors and policy-makers community would benefit from Happiness Research in Latin America.

Encouraging readers to be intelligent and skillful in their practice, this new collection by Thich Nhat Hanh outlines the essential steps by which we can all obtain real and lasting happiness.

It centers on the question of how much ways of talking and thinking about happiness and pain vary across cultures, and seeks to answer this question by empirically examining the core vocabulary pertaining to "happiness" and "pain" in many languages and in different religious and cultural traditions. The authors not only probe the precise meanings of the expressions in question, but also provide extensive cultural contextualization, showing how these meanings are truly cultural. Methodologically, while in full agreement with the view of many social scientists and economists that self-reports are the bedrock of happiness research, the volume presents a body of evidence highlighting the problem of translation and showing how local concepts of "happiness" and "pain" can be understood without an Anglo bias.

This is the latest survey in a series of studies on the wellbeing of Singaporeans. Key aspects of the wellbeing of Singaporeans include life satisfaction and satisfaction with specific life domains, aspects of affective wellbeing (e.g., happiness, enjoyment and achievement), economic wellbeing, psychological flourishing, personal values, value orientations, and views on socio-political issues.

This volume combines art history, cultural analyses and intellectual studies in order to explore the complexities of iconographic programs that represent various forms of happiness, or its explicit absence, and to expose the implications embedded in the artistic works in question.

This study of the Japanese LGBTQ+ community sheds light on the intersectionality of lived experiences, including gender, sexuality, family, (mental) health, race and ethnicity, migration, and nationality, offering a picture of a community whose experience is deeply embedded in the dynamic society around.

Mental illness can often be the driving force behind creativity. This relationship is never more apparent than in the memoirs of writers who have lived, worked and created with a mental illness.

Mental Wellbeing and Psychology unpacks the philosophical and psychological need to understand ourselves through an exploration of historical archives and artistic creativity. This focuses on some practical, evidence-based approaches to developing mental wellbeing.

In recent years, mindfulness and acceptances-based therapies have gained immense popularity in the field of behavioral health. And as these therapeutic models have proliferated, their teachings and practices have been introduced to a wide range of diverse applications.

This book provides a timely synthesis and discussion of recent developments in mindfulness research and practice within mental health and addiction domains. The book also discusses other Buddhist-derived interventions - such as loving-kindness meditation and compassion meditation - that are gaining momentum in clinical settings.

Filling a significant gap in the crosscultural and cross-disciplinary literature within the field of Pasifika (Polynesian) and Maori identities and mental health, this volume focuses on bridging mental health-related research and practice within the indigenous communities of the South Pacific.

Grounded in cutting-edge research, this book shows how interventions targeting gratitude, kindness, character strengths, optimistic thinking, hope, and healthy relationships can contribute to improved academic and social outcomes in grades 3-12. It provides a 10-session manual for promoting subjective well-being--complete with vivid case examples--that can be implemented with individuals, small groups, or whole classes.

Racialized Health, COVID-19, and Religious Responses: Black Atlantic Contexts and Perspectives explores black religious responses to black health concerns amidst persistent race-based health disparities and healthcare inequities. This cutting-edge edited volume provides theoretically and descriptively rich analysis of cases and contexts where race factors strongly in black health outcomes and dynamics, viewing these matters from various disciplinary and national vantage points.

This book provides an alternative to narratives that privilege the biomedical perspective on women's invisible illnesses. The contributors include women who exude diversity as it relates to race and ethnicity, career, religious experience, education, social support, and interpersonal relationships.

The Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Wellbeing consists of five themes, namely, physical, social and emotional, economic, cultural and spiritual, and subjective wellbeing. It fills a substantial gap in the current literature on the wellbeing of Indigenous people and communities around the world.

This handbook presents a thorough examination of the intricate interplay of race, ethnicity, and culture in mental health - historical origins, subsequent transformations, and the discourses generated from past and present mental health and wellness practices.

Boost your brain and gain an edge in everything you do. Smarter Sharper Thinking reveals how you can expand your brain's capability to think well under stress, to focus and get more out of your day, to be more creative and innovative, and to prepare you for future challenges.

EL competencies such as self-awareness, emotional regulation, problem solving, collaboration, understanding and empathising with others, embracing diversity and conflict resolution, are key 21st century competences.

Focusing on individual Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) communities such as Irish, Caribbean, South Asian, Chinese and Jewish, this accessible guide brings together key information on the impact of living with dementia in BAME communities into a single comprehensive resource for front-line staff as well as an information source for families and careers.

This practical guide enables post-secondary education professionals to create a safe and supportive environment for gender diverse applicants, students and staff.

Supporting troubled young people' provides a vital and much-needed resource for those involved with children and young people who are suffering from or at risk of developing, mental health problems.

An unapologetic exploration of the Black mental health crisis--and a comprehensive road map to getting the care you deserve in an unequal system. We can't deny it any longer: there is a Black mental health crisis in our world today. Black people die at disproportionately high rates due to chronic illness, suffer from poverty, under-education, and the effects of racism.

This book is divided into two parts, part one examines the brief history of happiness and summarizes the latest information from the areas of brain science as well as the field of positive psychology. Part two proposes that it is not happiness which is the true goal of human living.