The Art Life: on Creativity and Career by Stuart Horodner (Editor); Daniel Bozhkov (Contribution by); Brad Cloepfil (Contribution by); David Diao (Contribution by); Stacie Lindner (Editor)The Art Life: On Creativity and Career is a collection of solicited and selected texts that address the philosophical and practical issues that affect art-making and the marketplace. It brings together visual artists, curators, dealers, writers, musicians, architects, actors, and educators, who speak to their internal motivations, influences and processes, and to their external engagements with community, audience, career and success. Many of the contributors have taken part in exhibitions and public programs at the Atlanta Contemporary Art Center from 2007 to the present, and others have been included to represent provocative historical and contemporary viewpoints by a range of influential figures. The texts are taken from lectures, interviews, published statements, websites and email exchanges, and are joined by images of artists in the midst of creating or installing, as well as completed art works. The analytic and inspirational entries address the fact that a life in the arts can be simultaneously rewarding, frustrating, doubt-filled, joyful and uncertain. And yet, thousands of artists persist every day, motivated by a private insistency and the promise of satisfaction and recognition. Each is attempting to combine their creative life with a thriving career, and this publication provides various "words of wisdom" which can serve to inspire, challenge and reassure them. As painter Franz Kline said, "The real thing about creating is to have the capacity to be embarrassed." The composite nature of The Art Life is meant to posit that each creative individual must find the necessary information and materials to best establish their unique voice. The book is as much found as written, a heady mix of opinions and questions that can be used in classrooms and studios by artists of all ages.
Call Number: N66 .A79 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-31
How to Survive and Prosper As an Artist: Selling Yourself Without Selling Your Soul by Caroll MichelsThe classic handbook for launching and sustaining a career that "explodes the romantic notion of the starving artist," (The New York Times) with a brand-new chapter on Internet art marketing Now in its sixth edition,How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist is the definitive guide to taking control of your career and making a good living in the art world. Drawing on nearly three decades of experience, Caroll Michels offers a wealth of insider's information on getting into a gallery, being your own PR agent, and negotiating prices, as well as innovative marketing, exhibition, and sales opportunities for various artistic disciplines. She has also added a new section on digital printmaking and marketing in this emerging field. Most notably, this sixth edition contains an entirely new chapter: "Art Marketing on the Internet." Michels offers criteria for selecting an ideal Web designer for your online portfolio and for organizing your Web presence, and shares proven methods for attracting curators, dealers, and private clients to your site. She also addresses vital legal concerns in the age of e-commerce, including copyrighting and registering your art, and finally, the appendix of resources, consistently updated online at Michels's site the Artist Help Network, is fully revised.
Call Number: N6505 .M46 2009
Publication Date: 2009-06-09
Making It: The Artist's Survival Guide by Jasa; Noah CharneyWhat Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential did for the world of chefs and restaurants, Making It does for the art world.Making It is a gonzo memoir of an established artist crossed with objective advice, tips and tricks fleshed out by a best-selling art historian and Pulitzer finalist writer on art. It peels back the shroud and reveals the highs and struggles in the life and career of a working artist. Specifically aimed at aspiring artists and art students, it will be of interest to anyone who wants to know what it is like to have an artist's-eye-view of the art world, asking the tough and often glossed-over questions that rising artists inevitably have, not only about the creative process, but about navigating the turbulent waters of the social, professional, academic, critical, museum and trade elements of a career as a visual artist. How best to deal with the abundance of alcohol, drugs and sex while wire-walking your own artistic dilemmas? How can an artist launch his or her career and help it flourish? What's it like to achieve every artist's dream, including showing at the Venice Biennale? What does it really mean to "make it" and how can you maintain your groove once you've arrived? All these questions and more are answered in this combination tell-all memoir and how-to manual for rising artists and anyone wanting a behind-the-scenes tour of what it's like to be an artist.
Call Number: N7255.S563 J37 2021
Publication Date: 2021-08-15
Akademie X: Lessons in Art + Life by Studio Rags Media Collective; Marina Abramovic; Olafur Eliasson; Dan GrahamAssembled from the wisdom of 36 legendary art teachers - all of them artists or critics at the top of their field - Akademie X: Lessons in Art + Life is an ideal curriculum for the aspiring artist. Each of the book's "tutors" has provided a unique lesson that aims to provoke, inspire and stimulate the aspiring artist. These lessons cover some combination of the following: technical advice (e.g. don't make a sculpture bigger than your studio door), assignments (some of which will take five minutes to complete, others five years), tips for avoiding creative ruts (including suggestions for mind‐expanding materials to read, watch or listen to), principles of careful looking (demonstrated with images of artworks, photographs, films or even billboard advertisements), advice on the daily practice of art (how to balance time alone in the studio with building an artistic community), career pointers (how to prepare for a studio visit from a curator or gallerist) and personal anecdotes (e.g. stories from the instructor's own humble beginnings). Taken together, these lessons offer the reader a set of tools for thinking, seeing and living as an artist. Not only is Akademie X: Lessons in Art + Life the first illustrated text book of its kind for artists, but it will also appeal to anyone interested in contemporary art, providing first hand revelations into the philosophies and techniques of some of the world's best artists and writers.
Call Number: N8350 A53 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-19
Real Artists Don't Starve: Timeless Strategies for Thriving in the New Creative Age by Jeff GoinsBestselling author and creativity expert Jeff Goins dismantles the myth that being creative is a hindrance to success by revealing how an artistic temperament is in fact a competitive advantage in the marketplace. The Starving Artist Is a Myth We've heard it a thousand times: There's no money in art. It's too risky. You'll starve. So, we end up chasing more stable careers. We become lawyers and doctors and bankers instead of poets and filmmakers and painters. We settle. And in the end our best work suffers. The truth is we do not have to choose between a creative life and a prosperous one. In fact, many of history's most creative minds--from Michelangelo to Shakespeare to Steve Jobs--succeeded not because they succumbed to the myth of the starving artist but precisely because they didn't. Today we live in a New Renaissance, an era of unprecedented opportunity in which you can share your creative work without fear of suffering or starving. Drawing lessons from the likes of Jim Henson, C. S. Lewis, Dr. Dre, and many others, bestselling author and entrepreneur Jeff Goins invites us to drop the myths, worries, and flat-out lies that have been drilled into us our entire lives and instead reveals an empowering truth: Real artists don't starve. They THRIVE.
Call Number: N8353 .G65 2017
Publication Date: 2018-05-29
How to Create a Portfolio and Get Hired: A Guide for Graphic Designers & Illustrators by Fig TaylorThis book shows those embarking on an illustration or graphic design career how best to put together an effective, professional portfolio. It discusses what to include and how to organize and display the work, and also advises on presentation techniques and selfpromotion. Both print and digital portfolios are examined. Deciding who to approach for work is of key importance whether you are looking for a full-time position or freelance work, and the book maps out the creative marketplace, examining the main areas of work and describing the types of position available in each, and how the commissioning process works. Tips are included from commissioners and practitioners working in magazine and book publishing, design, advertising, TV/film and beyond, as well as agents and educators. The book also features a listings section detailing online resources and publications to aid research, suppliers, specialist libraries, industry-related trade fairs, and professional organizations.
Call Number: NC1001 .T39 2012
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Art That Pays: The Emerging Artist's Guide to Making a Living by Adele Slaughter; Jeff Kober; Judith Luther (Based on a book by); Warren Christensen (Created by)This up-to-date compendium of information for emerging and established artists offers concrete suggestions on how to live a vital artist's life. Includes information on housing, home-office, car and health insurance, finances, the internet, legal assistance, artist portfolios, grants, MFA programs, theatre companies and artists retreats. The authors take the reader through each aspect of building a practical life, and offer the kind of teaching not covered in art school, presenting substantive input from over thirty-five professionals in the fields of writing, acting, dance, visual arts and music. The book is accompanied by a CD-ROM with an extensive appendix and hundreds of hot links to artist resources.
Call Number: NX634 .S63 2004
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Career Opportunities in Photography by George GilbertPhotographers are employed in every branch of American industry - from communications to science to law enforcement to construction. New technology continues to revolutionize photographic techniques and make photography increasingly accessible to individuals, but in professional settings, the role of the experienced photographer who has mastered new and old techniques alike has become more important. The perfect guide to photography careers for high school students and career changers, Career Opportunities in Photography profiles approximately 60 jobs in photography and photography-related fields. Jobs included are aerial photographer, digital photography consultant, fine arts photographer, industrial photographer, photojournalist, technical writer, and more. Appendixes include listings of photography schools, trade publications, and other useful resources.
Call Number: TR154 .G53 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-01
Art Collection Management a Handbook for Collectors and Art Professionals by Mary RozellWith the rapid and unprecedented global expansion of the art market, new collectors are emerging every day. When buying art, whether for pure enjoyment, for investment or some other motive, few art collectors consider the practical and financial implications of owning and maintaining art, and many do not have a plan for how they might eventually dispose of it. This book, probing a number of resources and incorporating advice from top experts in the field, offers guidance on collection management and care, and serves as an important reference guide for collectors and those charged with managing collections.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer by Steven Heller; Veronique VienneBegin your graphic design career now, with the guidance of industry experts Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer is a single source guide to the myriad of options available to those pursuing a graphic design career. With an emphasis on portfolio requirements and job opportunities, this guide helps both students and individuals interested in entering the design field prepare for successful careers. Coverage includes design inspiration, design genres, and design education, with discussion of the specific career options available in print, interactive, and motion design. Interviews with leading designers like Michael Bierut, Stefan Sagmeister, and Mirko Ilic give readers an insider's perspective on career trajectory and a glimpse into everyday operations and inspirations at a variety of companies and firms. Design has become a multi-platform activity that involves aesthetic, creative, and technical expertise. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer shows readers that the field once known as "graphic design" is now richer and more inviting than ever before. Learn how to think like a designer and approach projects systematically Discover the varied career options available within graphic design Gain insight from some of the leading designers in their fields Compile a portfolio optimized to your speciality of choice Graphic designers' work appears in magazines, advertisements, video games, movies, exhibits, computer programs, packaging, corporate materials, and more. Aspiring designers are sure to find their place in the industry, regardless of specific interests. Becoming a Graphic and Digital Designer provides a roadmap and compass for the journey, which begins today.
Publication Date: 2015-04-15
The Education of an Art Director by Steven Heller (Editor); Veronique Vienne (Editor)This provocative anthology provides inspiration on teaching and discussing art direction in the classroom and beyond. Essays, interviews, and images from more than thirty teachers and leaders in the field provide an in-depth view of every facet of art direction; concrete examples reveal how to create classes that are fun to teach and inspiring to students and department chairs alike. A boon to instructors, a boost to anyone interested in graphic design, this book is educational in the best sense of the word.
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
Inside the Business of Illustration by Steven Heller; Marshall Arismanhis guide to the ins and outs of today's dynamic illustration business tells budding illustrators everything that their teacher didn't know or their art director didn't tell them. Using an entertaining, running narrative format to look at key concerns every illustrator must face today, this book covers finding one's unique style and establishing a balance between art and commerce; tackling issues of authorship and promotion; and more. In-depth perspectives are offered by illustrators, art directors, and art buyers from various industries and professional levels on such issues as quality, price negotiation, and illustrator-client relationships.
Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Business and Legal Forms for Illustrators by Tad CrawfordContaining 25 of the most essential business and legal forms to meet the everyday needs of today's successful illustrator, this updated edition includes new forms for trademark application, commercial lease, sublease, and lease assignment agreements. Unique negotiation checklists will guide illustrators to make the best deal. - "Belongs within easy reach of every working artist."--Graphic Artists Guild News - Includes a CD-ROM with electronic versions of the forms in Word and WordPerfect - Advertising in Communication Arts and Graphic Artist Guild News - This replaces 1-58115-008-3
This organization offers tax assistance for those in the entertainment industry; it is one of several industry-specific tax preparation resources.
Make sure to always have a passport that is active and non-expired. Some companies will not allow you to travel if your passport expiration date is within a six month period. DO NOT wait until the last minute to renew.
Small Business Administration
Through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), you can research various business types, find mentors, learn what paperwork is required to set up your business, and investigate financing options.