It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Personal + Professional Development Resource Guide
Catching the Big Fish: Meditation, Conciousness, and Creativity by David LynchIn this "unexpected delight,"* filmmaker David Lynch describes his personal methods of capturing and working with ideas, and the immense creative benefits he has experienced from the practice of meditation. Now in a beautiful paperback edition, David Lynch's Catching the Big Fish provides a rare window into the internationally acclaimed filmmaker's methods as an artist, his personal working style, and the immense creative benefits he has experienced from the practice of meditation. Catching the Big Fish comes as a revelation to the legion of fans who have longed to better understand Lynch's personal vision. And it is equally compelling to those who wonder how they can nurture their own creativity. Catching Ideas Ideas are like fish. If you want to catch little fish, you can stay in the shallow water. But if you want to catch the big fish, you've got to go deeper. Down deep, the fish are more powerful and more pure. They're huge and abstract. And they're very beautiful. I look for a certain kind of fish that is important to me, one that can translate to cinema. But there are all kinds of fish swimming down there. There are fish for business, fish for sports. There are fish for everything. Everything, anything that is a thing, comes up from the deepest level. Modern physics calls that level the Unified Field. The more your consciousness-your awareness-is expanded, the deeper you go toward this source, and the bigger the fish you can catch. --from Catching the Big Fish
Call Number: BF637.T68 L96 2006
Publication Date: 2006-12-28
The Film Handbook by Sarah Arnold; Mark de ValkThe Film Handbook examines the current state of filmmaking and how film language, technique and aesthetics are being utilised for today's 'digital film' productions. It reflects on how critical analysis' of film underpins practice and story, and how developing an autonomous 'vision' will best aid student creativity. The Film Handbook offers practical guidance on a range of traditional and independent 'guerrilla' film production methods, from developing script ideas and the logistics of planning the shoot to cinematography, sound and directing practices. Film professionals share advice of their creative and practical experiences shooting both on digital and film forms. The Film Handbook relates theory to the filmmaking process and includes: * documentary, narrative and experimental forms, including deliberations on 'reading the screen', genre, mise-en-scène, montage, and sound design * new technologies of film production and independent distribution, digital and multi-film formats utilised for indie filmmakers and professional dramas, sound design and music * the short film form, theories of transgressive and independent 'guerrilla' filmmaking, the avant-garde and experimental as a means of creative expression * preparing to work in the film industry, development of specialisms as director, producer, cinematographer, editor, and the presentation of creative work.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
Careers in Media and Film: The Essential Guide by Ros J. Healy; Ewa Mazierksa; Georgina GregoryWritten for students, graduates and academics from the disciplines of film, media and related subjects, and for those from other disciplines who want to break into the media, this book is a virtual career coach and an employability course all in one package. A practical handbook, it offers encouragement, advice, information and case studies to help students to make the most of the opportunities in this very competitive career world. The book can be used as a textual support for careers modules and PDP (Personal Development Planning), graduate workshops, on-line courses and as a departmental or careers library resource. Equally, it works effectively as a self-help guide to enable individuals to focus on their career / life development.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-02-24
Screenwriting for a Global Market: Selling Your Scripts from Hollywood to Hong Kong by Andrew HortonCinema is a truly global phenomenon and screenwriters who limit their ambitions to Hollywood can unnecessarily limit their careers. This book, loaded with information on every page, provides the practical know-how for breaking into the global marketplace. It is the first book to offer specific advice on writing for screens large and small, around the world from Hollywood to New Zealand, from Europe to Russia, and for alternative American markets including Native American, regional, and experimental. The book provides valuable insider information, such as * Twenty-five percent of German television is written by Hollywood writers. Screenwriters just need to know how to reach that market. * Many countries, including those in the European Union, have script development money available--to both foreign and local talent--from government-sponsored film funds. * The Web's influence on the film industry has been profound, and here you can find out how to network through the Web. The book also lists the key Web addresses for writers. Andrew Horton, author of two acclaimed books on screenwriting, includes personal essays by accomplished screenwriters from around the world and offers insightful case studies of several films and television scripts, among them My Big Fat Greek Wedding; Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon; and The Sopranos. Full of endless enthusiasm for great films and great scripts, this book will be an essential resource for both aspiring writers and accomplished writers hoping to expand their horizons, improve their skills, and increase their chances for success. Includes an interview with Terry Gilliam and contributions from Bernard Gordon, writer for The Day of the Triffids and The Thin Red Line; Lew Hunter, Chair of Screenwriting at UCLA; Karen Hall, writer/producer for Judging Amy and M*A*S*H; and other screenwriters
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-04-01
Writing, Directing, and Producing Documentary Films and Digital Videos by Alan Rosenthal; Ned EckhardtIn a new edition of this popular guidebook, filmmakers Alan Rosenthal and Ned Eckhardt show readers how to utilize the latest innovations in equipment, technologies, and production techniques for success in the digital, web-based world of documentary film. All twenty-four chapters of the volume have been revised to reflect the latest advances in documentary filmmaking. Rosenthal and Eckhardt discuss the myriad ways in which technological changes have impacted the creation process of documentary films, including how these evolving technologies both complicate and enrich filmmaking today. The book provides crucial insights for the filmmaker from the film's conception to distribution of the finished film. Topics include creating dynamic proposals, writing narration, and navigating the murky world of contracts. Also included are many practical tips for first-time filmmakers. To provide context and to illustrate techniques, Rosenthal and Eckhardt reference more than one hundred documentaries in detail. A new appendix, "Using the Web and Social Media to Prepare for Your Career," guides filmmakers through the process of leveraging social media and crowdsourcing for success in filmmaking, fund-raising, and promotion. A day-to-day field manual packed with invaluable lessons, this volume is essential reading for both novice and experienced documentary filmmakers.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Making It: The Artist's Survival Guide by Jasa; Noah CharneyWhat Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential did for the world of chefs and restaurants, Making It does for the art world.Making It is a gonzo memoir of an established artist crossed with objective advice, tips and tricks fleshed out by a best-selling art historian and Pulitzer finalist writer on art. It peels back the shroud and reveals the highs and struggles in the life and career of a working artist. Specifically aimed at aspiring artists and art students, it will be of interest to anyone who wants to know what it is like to have an artist's-eye-view of the art world, asking the tough and often glossed-over questions that rising artists inevitably have, not only about the creative process, but about navigating the turbulent waters of the social, professional, academic, critical, museum and trade elements of a career as a visual artist. How best to deal with the abundance of alcohol, drugs and sex while wire-walking your own artistic dilemmas? How can an artist launch his or her career and help it flourish? What's it like to achieve every artist's dream, including showing at the Venice Biennale? What does it really mean to "make it" and how can you maintain your groove once you've arrived? All these questions and more are answered in this combination tell-all memoir and how-to manual for rising artists and anyone wanting a behind-the-scenes tour of what it's like to be an artist.
Call Number: N7255.S563 J37 2021
Publication Date: 2021-08-15
Your Career in Animation: How to Survive and Thrive by David B. LevyGreat ideas for animators who are starting out or looking for their next job * Packed with information and insights * Perfect for film students and art students. Animation is a multibillion-dollar industry. Here's an insider's guide to getting into that industry, staying there, and getting ahead. Author David B. Levy has interviewed the top pros in animation, including Steven Hillenburg, creator of SpongeBob SquarePants; Al Brodax, producer of Yellow Submarine; Teddy Newton, character designer on The Incredibles; Linda Simensky, senior director of PBS Kids; John R. Dilworth, creator of Courage the Cowardly Dog; and dozens of others to get their insights on creating a portfolio or reel, meeting animators, networking, and making the leap from working for others to pitching and selling. A resource section lists animation schools, film festivals, studios, Web sites, and publications to get budding animators off to an animated start. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Call Number: NC1765 .L48 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Directing the Documentary by Michael RabigerDirecting the Documentary, Sixth Edition is the definitive book on the form, offering time-tested principles to help you master the craft. Ideal for documentary courses as well as aspiring and established documentary filmmakers, this book has it all, with in-depth lessons and insider perspectives on every aspect of preproduction, production, and postproduction. Focusing on the hands-on work needed to make your concept a reality, this new edition covers it all, from the fundamental to advanced elements of directing and more. It includes dozens of projects, practical exercises, and thought-provoking questions, and provides best practices for researching and honing your documentary idea, developing a crew, guiding your team, maintaining control throughout the shoot, and much more. This new edition features: A two-stage cinematic learning process: camera observation skills, then advanced storytelling Dozens of real-world exercises and case studies to demystify production processes and enhance your skills Easy-to-comprehend guidance in the creative, technical, and artistic aspects of directing Fresh coverage of the latest filmmaking technology Expanded sections on grant writing and fundraising, emphasizing proposal and pitching skills A self-assessment of your interviewing skills and expanded coverage of narration-writing A companion website (www.directingthedocumentary.com) that includes handy production checklists and forms, updated projects, exercises, and video examples In Directing the Documentary, Sixth Edition Michael Rabiger combines expert advice on the storytelling process and technical aspects of documentary filmmaking with sound commentary on the philosophical underpinnings of the art, providing the practical and holistic understanding you need to become a highly-regarded, original, and ethical contributor to the genre.
Call Number: PN1995.9.D6 R33 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-22
Directing for the Screen by Anna Weinstein (Editor)Directing for the Screen is a collection of essays and interviews exploring the business of directing. This highly accessible guide to working in film and television includes perspectives from industry insiders on topics such as breaking in; developing and nurturing business relationships; the director's responsibilities on set and in the field; and more. Directing for the Screen is an ideal companion to filmmaking classes, demystifying the industry and the role of the director with real-world narratives and little-known truths about the business. With insight from working professionals, you'll be armed with the information you need to pursue your career as a director. Contains essays by and interviews with television directors, feature directors, documentary filmmakers, commercial directors, producers, and professors. Offers expert opinions on how to get started, including landing and succeeding in an internship and getting your first gig. Reveals details about working with actors, overseeing the work of often hundreds of crewmembers, writing last-minute on set, and developing a working relationship with producers and screenwriters. Explores strategies for doing creative work under pressure, finding your directorial voice, financing shorts and independent films, breaking down barriers and overcoming discrimination, shooting in less-than-ideal situations, and recovering from bad reviews or box office results. Illuminates the business of directing in the United States (New York and Los Angeles) as compared to other countries around the globe, including England, Ireland, Spain, Australia, Denmark, Pakistan, Belgium, and Canada.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 D535 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-15
The Reel Truth: Everything You Didn't Know You Need to Know About Making an Independent Film by Reed MartinDid you know that most of the biggest indie filmmakers, screenwriters, and producers working today each made the same avoidable mistakes early on in their careers? The Reel Truth details the pitfalls, snares, and roadblocks that aspiring filmmakers encounter. Reed Martin interviewed more than one hundred luminaries from the independent film world to discuss the near misses that almost derailed their first and second films and identify the close shaves that could have cut their careers short. Other books may tell you the best way to make your independent film or online short, but no other book describes so candidly how to spot and avoid such issues and obstacles as equipment problems, shooting-day snafus, postproduction myths, theatrical distribution deal breakers, and dozens of other commonly made missteps, including the top fifty mistakes every filmmaker makes. From personal experience and his years as a freelance reporter covering independent film forUSA Today andFilmmaker magazine, Martin uncovers the truth about the risks and potential rewards that go with chasing celluloid glory. Whether you're writing a screenplay, looking for financing, about to start shooting, or thinking about investing time and money (or someone else's money) in an independent film,The Reel Truth is a must-read.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 M34 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-28
The Independent Film and Videomaker's Guide by Michael WieseWiese has packed 25 years experience in film and video into the most comprehensive and useful book ever for filmmakers seeking both independence and success in the marketplace. Loaded with insider's tips to help filmmakers avoid the pitfalls of show business.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 W5 1998
Publication Date: 1998-07-27
The Working Director by Charles WilkinsonA step-by-step guide to the rules of engagement--starting with what and what not to say on the first producer phone call, how to deal with writers, with stars, with crews. A fun, irreverent, informative, gloves-off guide to landing the work, doing the work, and getting more.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P7 W55 2005
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
Breaking into Film by Kenna McHughProvides insight into all jobs within film & video & offers unparalleled advice from industry insiders. Also includes information on how to find internships, how to network, & appendixes of key employers.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P75 M37 1999
Publication Date: 1998-12-12
The Film Industry by Fred Yager; Jan Yager; David Carradine (Foreword by)Praise for the previous edition: "...recommended..."—American Reference Books Annual "...useful...this work is well-organized and easy to use...covers a vast amount of material...comprehensive...Recommended." —Choice "...an essential reference...Informed and informative, each job description is succinct and comprehensive."—Midwest Book Review "...[a] helpful guide."—www.Forbes.com According to the Motion Picture Association of America, 607 feature films were released in 2006—an 11 percent increase from the 549 films released in 2005. Since the first edition of Career Opportunities in the Film Industry was published, the digital revolution and the blossoming broadband business on the Internet have changed the way many movies are shot, edited, distributed, and even viewed. Many technological advances have had an impact on the career opportunities now available in the film industry, creating new positions that reflect advances in digital production, distribution, exhibition, and marketing. Featuring more than 80 job profiles—with five new to this edition—this new edition updates all key information, including salary ranges, employment outlook, and technical advances, and features a new foreword by the late actor David Carradine. Appendixes, which have been completely updated, include directories of colleges and universities; non-degree training programs; professional unions and associations; film competitions, fellowships, internships, and festivals; and more. A glossary defines key terms, and a helpful bibliography includes books, industry publications, and Web resources. New and updated career profiles include: Actor Animal safety representative Camera operator Director Film editor Location scout Producer Production assistant Screenwriter Set designer Sound mixer Stuntperson and more.
Call Number: PN1995.9.P75 Y34 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Sell Your Screenplay: Your Guide to the Independent Film and Television Producer by Andrea Leigh WolfIt's all here- a view from the trenches. No one will sell your script more successfully than you. Read Sell Your Screenplay and learn to: Gain insight through the author's failures and triumphs. Avoid potential pitfalls and save precious time. Overcome big studio politics and acheive success through the creative vision of the more accessible independent producer. Write and sell high-quality, professional screenplays.
Call Number: PN1996 .W565 2001
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Writing for the Screen by Anna Weinstein (Editor)Writing for the Screen is a collection of essays and interviews exploring the business of screenwriting. This highly accessible guide to working in film and television includes perspectives from industry insiders on topics such as breaking in; pitching; developing and nurturing business relationships; juggling multiple projects; and more. Writing for the Screen is an ideal companion to screenwriting and filmmaking classes, demystifying the industry and the role of the screenwriter with real-world narratives and little-known truths about the business. With insight from working professionals, you'll be armed with the information you need to pursue your career as a screenwriter. Contains essays by and interviews with screenwriting consultants, television writers, feature writers, writer-directors of independent film, producers, and professors. Offers expert opinions on how to get started, including preparing your elevator pitch, finding mentors, landing an internship, and moving from an internship to the next step in your career. Reveals details about taking meetings, what development executives are looking for in a screenwriter, how and when to approach a producer, and how to pitch. Explores strategies for doing creative work under pressure, finding your voice, choosing what to write, sticking with a project over the long haul, overcoming discrimination, and reinventing yourself as a writer. Illuminates the business of screenwriting in the United States (New York and Los Angeles) as compared to other countries around the globe, including England, Ireland, Peru, France, Australia, and Belgium.
This organization offers tax assistance for those in the entertainment industry; it is one of several industry-specific tax preparation resources.
Make sure to always have a passport that is active and non-expired. Some companies will not allow you to travel if your passport expiration date is within a six month period. DO NOT wait until the last minute to renew.
Small Business Administration
Through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), you can research various business types, find mentors, learn what paperwork is required to set up your business, and investigate financing options.