The specific resources on this page are meant to provide instructional guidance and support for any and all Community Arts Partnership (CAP) Teaching Artists, as well as others who may be interested in pursuing teaching opportunities and/or entering the field of arts education.
Creative Teaching: Learning with Style by
Findout how you can be more creative and encourage more creativity from yourstudents without having to put in hours of extra preparation. This concise,practical guide will help you to gain the confidence to move out of yourcomfort zone and take some risks, in order to meet the needs of students with avariety of learning styles and needs. Thisupdated edition of Creative Teaching includes practical activities and avariety of strategies to help you to plan exciting, pupil-centred lessons thatare easy to integrate into your schemes of work. There is newmaterial on: * independent learning - offering a clear framework for design, delivery andassessment of lessons* transforming the ethos of the school to a positive, creative one* the companion website - offering printable or downloadable checklists,questionnaires and templates. Alongwith adaptable action plans for improving both your classroom and whole-schoolethos, this book creates a cohesive picture of how teachers can make learningeasier and more enjoyable for themselves and their pupils.
Arts with the Brain in Mind by
'How do the arts stack up as a major discipline? What is their effect on the brain, learning, and human development? How might schools best implement and assess an arts program? Eric Jensen answers these questions--and more--in this book. To push for higher standards of learning, many policymakers are eliminating arts programs. To Jensen, that's a mistake.This book presents the definitive case, based on what we know about the brain and learning, for making arts a core part of the basic curriculum and thoughtfully integrating them into every subject. Separate chapters address musical, visual, and kinesthetic arts in ways that reveal their influence on learning.What are the effects of a fully implemented arts program? The evidence points to the following:* Fewer dropouts* Higher attendance * Better team players * An increased love of learning* Greater student dignity* Enhanced creativity* A more prepared citizen for the workplace of tomorrow* Greater cultural awareness as a bonusTo Jensen, it's not a matter of choosing, say, the musical arts over the kinesthetic. Rather, ask what kind of art makes sense for what purposes. How much time per day? At what ages? What kind of music? What kind of movement? Should the arts be required? How do we assess arts programs? In answering these real-world questions, Jensen provides dozens of practical, detailed suggestions for incorporating the arts into every classroom.
Rethinking Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education by
For over a decade, Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education has served as the guide to multicultural art education, connecting everyday experience, social critique, and creative expression with classroom learning. The much-anticipated Rethinking Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education continues to provide an accessible and practical tool for teachers, while offering new art, essays, and content to account for transitions and changes in both the fields of art and education. A beautifully-illustrated collaboration of over one hundred artists, writers, curators, and educators from in and around the contemporary art world, this volume offers thoughtful and innovative materials that challenge the normative practices of arts education and traditional art history. Rethinking Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education builds upon the pedagogy of the original to present new possibilities and modes of understanding art, culture, and their relationships to students and ourselves. 　 The fully revised second edition provides new theoretical and practical resources for educators and students everywhere, including:　　　　 Educators' perspectives on contemporary art, multicultural education, and teaching in today's classroom Full-color reproductions and writings on over 50 contemporary artists and their works, plus an additional 150 black-and-white images throughout Lesson plans for using art to explore topical issues such as activism and democracy, conflict: local and global, and history and historicism　　　 A companion website offering over 250 color reproductions of artwork from the book, a glossary of terms, and links to the New Museum and G: Class websites---www.routledge.com/textbooks/9780415960854.
Representations of Working in Arts Education: Stories of Learning and Teaching by
Arts education provides students with opportunities to build knowledge and skills in self-expression, imagination, creative and collaborative problem solving, and creation of shared meanings. Engagement in arts education has also been said to positively affect overall academic achievement, and the development of empathy. This book provides key insights from stakeholders across the teaching and learning spectrum and offers examples of pedagogical practice to those interested in facilitating arts education.
Youth, Arts, and Education: Reassembling Subjectivity through Affect by
How are the arts important in young people's lives? Youth, Arts and Education offers a groundbreaking theory of arts education. Anna Hickey-Moody explores how the arts are ways of belonging, resisting, being governed and being heard. Through examples from the United Kingdom and Australia, Anna Hickey-Moody shows the cultural significance of the kinds of learning that occur in and through arts. Drawing on the thought of Gilles Deleuze, she develops the theory of affective pedagogy, which explains the process of learning that happens through aesthetics. Bridging divides between critical pedagogical theory, youth studies and arts education scholarship, this book: Explains the cultural significance of the kinds of learning that occur in and through arts Advances a theory of aesthetic citizenship created by youth arts Demonstrates ways in which arts practices are forms popular and public pedagogy Critiques popular ideas that art can be used to fix problems in the lives of youth at risk Youth, Arts and Education is the first post-critical theory of arts education. It will be of interest to students and scholars across the social sciences and humanities, in particular in the sociology of education, arts education, youth studies, sociology of the arts and cultural studies.
"What's So Great about Art, Anyway?": A Teacher's Odyssey by
Inviting readers to examine schools and teaching with a critical lens, this visually and conceptually captivating graphic novel advocates for arts education in schools. At the center of this work is the author's memoir as a young high school art teacher in the public school system. Through engaging (and frequently funny) anecdotes centered on classroom life, mixed with discussions of education policy and reform, readers explore teacher/student relationships, testing and accountability, 21st-century learning, and the history and purpose of art education. Branham's personal narrative of challenges and triumphs demonstrate why art education should be preserved as a core subject if students are to understand the connection between creativity, critical thinking, and other higher-order skills. "What's So Great About Art, Anyway?" is a refreshing book for everyone--particularly for in-service teachers--and is a smart foundational text in arts education and introduction to teaching courses. Book Features: A personal narrative that begins with the author's reasons for becoming an art teacher. A visually compelling layout with arresting illustrations drawn by the author. An approach to teaching complex concepts that will appeal to younger generations. A succinct look at art education and its history and function in American schools. A critical examination of current educational policies and how they affect classroom teachers.
Ready-to-Go Instructional Strategies That Build Collaboration, Communication, and Critical Thinking by 
Art and Social Justice Education: Culture as Commons by
Art and Social Justice Education offersnbsp;inspiration and tools for educatorsnbsp;to craft critical, meaningful, and transformative arts education curriculum and arts integration projects. The images, descriptive texts, essays, and resources are grounded within a clear social justice framework and linked to ideas about culture as commons. Essays and a section written by and for teachers who have already incorporatednbsp;contemporary artistsnbsp;and ideas into their curriculums help readers to imagine ways to use the content in their own settings.nbsp;This book is enhanced by anbsp;Companion Website (www.routledge.com/cw/quinn) featuring artists and artworks, project examples, and dialogue threads for educators. Proposing that art can contribute in a wide range of ways to the work of envisioning and making a more just world, this imaginative, practical, and engaging sourcebooknbsp;of contemporary artists'nbsp;works and education resources advances the field of arts education, locally, nationally, and internationally, by moving beyond models of discipline-based or expressive art education. It will be welcomed by all educators seeking to include the arts and social justice in their curricula.
Drop That Knowledge: Youth Radio Stories by
This is the first book to take us inside Youth Radio for a fascinating, behind-the-scenes look at a unique, Peabody Award-winning organization that produces distinctive content for outlets from National Public Radio to YouTube. Young people come to Youth Radio, headquartered in Oakland, California, from under-resourced public schools and neighborhoods in order to produce media that will transform both their own lives and the world around them. Drop That Knowledge weaves their compelling personal stories into a fresh framework for understanding the relationship between media, learning, and youth culture at a moment when all three spheres are undergoing dramatic change. The book emphasizes what is innovative and exciting in youth culture and offers concrete strategies for engaging and collaborating with diverse groups of young people on real-world initiatives in a range of settings, online and in real life.
Education for Socially Engaged Art: A Materials and Techniques Handbook by 
Teaching Artist Handbook, Volume One by
Teaching Artist Handbook is based on the premise that teaching artists have the unique ability to engage students as fellow artists. In their schools and communities, teaching artists put high quality art-making at the center of their practice and open doors to powerful learning across disciplines. This book is a collection of essays, stories, lists, examples, dialogues, and ideas, all offered with the aim of helping artists create and implement effective teaching based on their own expertise and strengths. The Handbook addresses three core questions: "What will I teach?" "How will I teach it?" and "How will I know if my teaching is working?" It also recognizes that teaching is a dynamic process that requires critical reflection and thoughtful adjustment in order to foster a supportive artistic environment. Instead of offering rigid formulas, this book is centered on practice--the actual doing and making of teaching artist work. Experience-based and full of heart, the Teaching Artist Handbook will encourage artists of every experience level to create an original and innovative practice that inspires students and the artist.
Artist-Teacher: A Philosophy for Creating and Teaching by
Is an artist-teacher a mere professional who balances a career--or does the duality of making and teaching art merit a more profound investigation? Rejecting a conventional understanding of the artist-teacher, this book sets out to present a robust history from the classical era to the twenty-first century. Particular pedagogical portraits--featuring George Wallis, Walter Gropius, Johannes Itten, Victor Pashmore, Richard Hamilton, Arthur Wesley Dow, and Hans Hofmann--illustrate the artist-teacher in various contexts. This book offers a revelation of the complex thinking processes artists utilize when teaching, and a reconciliation of the artistic and educational enterprises as complimentary partners.
Education by
Art's recent "educational turn" is viewed within a wider-ranging narrative of alternative ideas of education through art.This book will be an original and indispensable resource for all who believe in the importance of art in the wider educational realm. Framing the recent "educational turn" in the arts within a broad historical and social context, this anthology raises fundamental questions about how and what should be taught in an era of distributive rather than media-based practices. Among the many sources and arguments traced here is second-wave feminism, which questioned dominant notions of personal and institutional freedom as enacted through art teaching and practice. Similarly, education-based responses by the art community to the catastrophes of World War II and postcolonial conflict critically inform contemporary art confronting the interrelationships of education, power, market capitalism, and-as Michael Hardt and Antonio Negri describe it-the global condition of war. These writings by artists, philosophers, educators, poets, and activists center on three recurring and interrelated themes- the notion of "indiscipline" in theories and practices that challenge boundaries of all kinds; the present and future role of the art school; and the turn to pedagogy as medium in a diverse range of recent projects. Other writings address such issues as instrumentalism and control, liberation and equality, the production and the politics of culture, and the roots of research-based practice and experimental participatory works.
Articles
Heaton, Rebecca. “Artist Teacher Cognition: Connecting 'Self' with 'Other'.” Australian Art Education 39, no. 1 (2018): 139–45.
Slam School: Learning Through Conflict in the Hip-Hop and Spoken Word Classroom by
Mainstream rap's seductive blend of sexuality, violence, and bravado hardly seems the stuff of school curricula. And chances are good that the progressive and revolutionary "underground" hip-hop of artists such as The Roots or Mos Def is not on the playlists of most high-school students. That said, hip-hop culture remains a profound influence on contemporary urban youth culture and a growing number of teachers are developing strategies for integrating it into their classrooms. While most of these are hip-hop generation members who cannot imagine leaving the culture at the door, this book tells the story of a white teacher who stepped outside his comfort zone into the rich and messy realm of student popular investments and abilities. Slam School takes the reader into the heart of a poetry course in an urban high school to make the case for critical hip-hop pedagogies. Pairing rap music with its less controversial cousins, spoken word and slam poetry, this course honored and extended student interests. It also confronted the barriers of race, class, gender, and generation that can separate white teachers from classrooms of predominantly black and Latino students and students from each other. Bronwen Low builds a surprising argument: the very reasons teachers might resist the introduction of hip-hop into the planned curriculum are what make hip-hop so pedagogically vital. Class discussions on topics such as what one can and cannot say in the school auditorium or who can use the N-word raised pressing and difficult questions about language, culture and identity. As she reveals, an innovative, student-centered pedagogy based on spoken word curriculum that is willing to tolerate conflict, as well as ambivalence, has the potential to air tensions and lead to new insights and understandings for both teachers and students.
Don't Forget to Write: 50 Enthralling and Effective Writing Lessons: Ages 11 and Up by
Fantastic strategies for getting high school students excited about writing This book offers 50 creative writing lesson plans from the imaginative and highly acclaimed 826 National writing labs. Created as a resource to reach all students (even those most resistant to creative writing), the off-beat and attention-grabbing lessons include such gems as "Literary Facebooks," where students create a mock Facebook profile based on their favorite literary character, as well as highly practical lessons like the "College Application Essay Boot Camp." These writing lessons are written by experts--and favorite novelists, actors, and other entertainers pitched in too.Road-tested lessons from a stellar national writing labInventive and unique lessons that will appeal to even the most difficult-to-reach studentsIncludes a chart linking lessons to the Common Core State Standards 826 National is an organization committed to supporting teachers, publishing student work, and offering services for English language learners.
The Music Teaching Artist's Bible: Becoming a Virtuoso Educator by
When the artist moves into the classroom or community to educate and inspire students and audience members, this is Teaching Artistry. It is a proven means for practicing professional musicians to create a successful career in music, providing not only necessary income but deep and lastingsatisfaction through engaging people in learning experiences about the arts. Filled with practical advice on the most critical issues facing the music teaching artist today--from economic and time-management issues of being a musician and teacher to communicating effectively with students--The MusicTeaching Artist's Bible uncovers the essentials that every musician needs in order to thrive in this role. Author Eric Booth offers both inspiration and how-to, step-by-step guidance in this truly comprehensive manual that music teaching artists will turn to again and again. The book also includescritical information on becoming a mentor, succeeding in school environments, partnering with other teaching artists, advocating for music and arts education, and teaching private lessons.The Music Teaching Artist's Bible helps practicing and aspiring teaching artists gain the skills they need to build new audiences, improve the presence of music in schools, expand the possibilities of traditional and educational performances, and ultimately make their lives as an artists even moresatisfying and fulfilling.
The Savvy Music Teacher: Blueprint for Maximizing Income and Impact by
Is it possible to have a music teaching career that is meaningful, artistically fulfilling, and financially self-supporting? The Savvy Music Teacher unveils a clear, realistic, dollar-for-dollar blueprint for earning a steady income as a music teacher, increasing impact and incomesimultaneously. This comprehensive resource reveals an entrepreneurial process with lessons that cannot be found anywhere else. Armed with Cutler's expert guidance, readers will learn to develop:* A thriving studio with an important curriculum* Multiple income/impact streams* Innovation strategies for every aspect of business and art* Powerhouse marketing* Time management skills* Financial literacy and independence* An inspired career outlookA must-read for independent music teachers of all levels, both beginning and those with established studios, as well as the music performance graduates who so often become studio teachers, The Savvy Music Teacher provides practical advice in down-to-earth language that includes real-lifeexperiences from successful teacher-entrepreneurs.
The Oxford Handbook of Music Education by
Music education takes place in many contexts, both formal and informal. Be it in a school or music studio, while making music with friends or family, or even while travelling in a car, walking through a shopping mall or watching television, our myriad sonic experiences accumulate from the earliest months of life to foster our facility for making sense of the sound worlds in which we live. The Oxford Handbook of Music Education offers a comprehensive overview of the many facets of musical experience, behavior and development in relation to this diverse variety of contexts. In this first of two volumes, an international list of contributors discuss a range of key issues and concepts associated with music learning and teaching. The volume then focuses on these processes as they take place during childhood, from infancy through adolescence and primarily in the school-age years. Exploring how children across the globe learn and make music and the skills and attributes gained when they do so, these chapters examine the means through which music educators can best meet young people's musical needs. The second volume of the set brings the exploration beyond the classroom and into later life. Whether they are used individually or in tandem, the two volumes of The Oxford Handbook of Music Education update and redefine the discipline, and show how individuals across the world learn, enjoy and share the power and uniqueness of music.
The Art of Teaching Art: A Guide for Teaching and Learning the Foundations of Drawing-Based Art by
Often the finest artists do not make the best teachers. Many frustrated college students of art know this all too well as they suffer through unstructured classes with inexperienced teachers or graduate student instructors. In these situations, it is easy to blame the teachers. But the problem is largely institutional: most students graduating with MFAs from art schools receive little if any instruction in teaching art. If you find yourself in this predicament as teacher or student, this book is for you.The first book to provide a comprehensive guide for teaching college-level art, The Art of Teaching Art is the culmination of respected artist and instructor Deborah Rockman's two decades of teaching experience. Believing that drawing is the backbone of all of the visual arts, she begins with a complete explanation of drawing concepts that apply to any subject matter, e.g., composition, sighting processes, scaling techniques, and methods for linear and tonal development. She then illustrates these concepts with step-by-step methods that easily translate to classroom exercises. Next, she applies the drawing principles to every artist's most important and challenging subject, the human figure. After an extended section on understanding and teaching perspective that explores illusionistic form and space, the focus of the book shifts to the studio classroom itself and the essential elements that go into making an effective learning environment and curriculum. From preparing materials lists and syllabi, to setting up still-lifes, handling difficult classroom situations, critiquing and grading student artworks, and shooting slides of student artworks, she leaves no stone unturned.
The Art Teacher's Survival Guide for Secondary Schools by
An invaluable compendium of 75 creative art projects for art educators and classroom teachers This authoritative, practical, and comprehensive guide offers everything teachers need to know to conduct an effective arts instruction and appreciation program. It meets secondary art teacher's unique needs for creating art lessons that cover everything from the fundamentals to digital media careers for aspiring artists. The book includes ten chapters that provide detailed instructions for both teachers and students, along with creative lesson plans and practical tools such as reproducible handouts, illustrations, and photographs. Includes 75 fun and creative art projects Fully updated to reflect the latest changes in secondary art instruction, including digital media and digital photography Heavily illustrated with photographs and drawings For art teachers, secondary classroom teachers, and homeschoolers, this is the ideal hands-on guide to art instruction for middle school and high school students.
Cartooning: Philosophy and Practice by
From the editor of Yale's Anthology of Graphic Fiction, Cartoons, and True Stories, a smart and charming guide to the art of cartooning The best cartooning is efficient visual storytelling--it is as much a matter of writing as it is of drawing. In this book, noted cartoonist and illustrator Ivan Brunetti presents fifteen distinct lessons on the art of cartooning, guiding his readers through wittily written passages on cartooning terminology, techniques, tools, and theory. Supplemented by Brunetti's own illustrations, prepared specially for this book, these lessons move the reader from spontaneous drawings to single-panel strips and complicated multipage stories. Through simple, creative exercises and assignments, Brunetti offers an unintimidating approach to a complex art form. He looks at the rhythms of storytelling, the challenges of character design, and the formal elements of comics while composing pages in his own iconic style and experimenting with a variety of tools, media, and approaches. By following the author's sophisticated and engaging perspective on the art of cartooning, aspiring cartoonists of all ages will hone their craft, create their personal style, and discover their own visual language.
Visual Culture: The Study of the Visual After the Cultural Turn by
The history, theoretical frameworks, methodology, and pedagogy of the new field of visual culture; current debates and the possibility for future consensus. In recent years, visual culture has emerged as a growing and important interdisciplinary field of study. Visual culture regards images as central to the representation of meaning in the world. It encompasses "high" art without an assumption of its higher status. But despite the current proliferation of studies and programs in visual culture, there seems to be no consensus within the field itself as to its scope and objectives, definitions, and methods. In Visual Culture, Margaret Dikovitskaya offers an overview of this new area of study in order to reconcile its diverse theoretical positions and understand its potential for further research. Her aim is to show how visual culture can avoid what she defines as the Scylla and Charybdis that threaten it: the lack of a specific object of study (given its departure from the traditional hierarchies of art history) and the expansion of the field to the point of incoherence as it seems to subsume everything related to the cultural and the visual. Dikovitskaya gives us an archaeology of visual culture, examining the "cultural turn" away from art history and the emergence of visual studies. Drawing on responses to questionnaires, oral histories, and interviews with the field's leading scholars, she discusses first the field's history, theoretical frameworks, and methods, and then examines four programs and courses in visual culture--those at the University of Rochester, the University of Chicago, the University of California at Irvine, and the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Bringing together considerations of theory and practice, Dikovitskaya charts the future of visual culture programs in the twenty-first century.
Contemporary Art and Multicultural Education by
This text addresses the role of art within contemporary multicultural education. Co-published with the New Museum of Contemporary Art, it provides both theoretical foundations and practical resources for art educators and students. This edition combines colour illustrations and first-person artists' statements with interviews with notable educators and extensive lesson plans. It adopts an approach which connects everyday experience, social critique and creative expression with classroom learning. Susan Cahan and Zoya Kocur address this void by focusing on issues that students care about and that relate to a larger, life-world. For students from widely-varied backgrounds and differing levels of English comprehension, art becomes a vital means of reflecting upon the nature of society and social existence.
Teaching Graphic Design: Course Offerings and Class Projects from the Leading Graduate and Undergraduate Programs by
More Than Sixty Course Syllabi That Bring the New Complexity of Graphic Design to Light All graphic designers teach, yet not all graphic designers are teachers. Teaching is a special skill requiring talent, instinct, passion, and organization. But while talent, instinct, and passion are inherent, organization must be acquired and can usually be found in a syllabus. Teaching Graphic Design, Second Edition, contains syllabi that are for all practicing designers and design educators who want to enhance their teaching skills and learn how experienced instructors and professors teach varied tools and impart the knowledge needed to be a designer in the current environment. This second edition is newly revised to include more than thirty new syllabi by a wide range of professional teachers and teaching professionals who address the most current concerns of the graphic design industry, including product, strategic, entrepreneurial, and data design as well as the classic image, type, and layout disciplines. Some of the new syllabi included are: Expressive Typography Designer as Image Maker Emerging Media Production Branding Corporate Design Graphic Design and Visual Culture Impact! Design for Social Change And many more Beginning with first through fourth year of undergraduate courses and ending with a sampling of graduate school course options, Teaching Graphic Design, Second Edition, is the most comprehensive collection of courses for graphic designers of all levels.
Teaching Motion Design: Course Offerings and Class Projects from the Leading Undergraduate and Graduate Programs by
How motion design is taught in more than 45 leading programs. * Detailed syllabi and descriptions of class projects and assignments * Go-to guide for professors and teachers planning their courses * Course plans from School of Visual Arts, Ohio State, Rochester Institute of Technology, many other top schools. This definitive study of motion design is essential reading for everyone teaching or studying design. Now, for the first time, authors Steven Heller and Michael Dooley present a comprehensive look at course offerings from more than 45 leading programs devoted to design, illustration, animation, and computer art. Taken together, they provide a close-up look at the principles and practices of 3D computer animation, character animation, pictorial background illustration, motion graphic design, interactive media, film design, and more, with class projects and syllabi from many of the most prestigious schools in the country. Organized in easy-to-use sections by year of study, this invaluable tool will be every graphic design educator's go-to guide. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.