It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Personal + Professional Development Resource Guide
Beyond Talent: Creating a Successful Career in Music by Angela Myles BeechingThis newly expanded edition of Beyond Talent provides user-friendly real-life advice, examples, and perspectives on how to further a career in music. Understanding the unique talents and training of musicians, veteran music career counselor Angela Myles Beeching presents a wealth of creativesolutions for career advancement in the highly competitive music industry. Step-by-step instructions detail how to design promotional materials, book performances, network and access resources and assistance, jump start a stalled career, and expand your employment opportunities while remaining trueto your music. Beeching untangles artist management and the recording industry, explains how to find and create performance opportunities, and provides guidance on grant writing and fundraising, day jobs, freelancing, and how to manage money, time, and stress. The new extensive companion websiteputs numerous up-to-date and useful internet resources at your fingertips.This essential handbook goes beyond the usual "how-to," helping musicians tackle the core questions about career goals, and create a meaningful life as a professional musician. Beyond Talent is the ideal companion for students and professionals, emerging musicians and mid-career artists.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010-11-05
The Musician's Journey: Crafting Your Career Vision and Plan by Jill TimmonsThe Musician's Journey escorts musicians, performing artists, music teachers, and advanced music students along the road toward a successful career, offering a vast array of resources to guide them from envisioning the process to achieving the practical details. Jill Timmons provides key tools throughout the journey, from sources as diverse as the world of myth to current brain research, which illuminate compelling real-world examples of music entrepreneurs who forged their own paths to success. Included are chapters on careers in higher education; guidance in how to develop a business plan; general tips on grant writing and financial development; a separate section exploring the stories of other successful musicians; and personal narrative taken from the author's work as a professional musician and consultant. The book includes an extensive bibliography of additional resources, and the companion website offers downloadable worksheets and questionnaires to help readers along their way.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
The Art of Music Publishing: An Entrepreneurial Guide to Publishing and Copyright for the Music, Film, and Media Industries by Helen GammonsDo you want to pursue a career and succeed in the lucrative area of music publishing? The Art of Music Publishing provides real inspiration and a tangible hands on perspective to this exciting side of the high-risk, high-reward music business. Prepare yourself for a career in music publishing and understand this complex but profitable part of the music business. Author Gammons walks you through all you need to know * understanding the role of the publisher * copyright * managing rights * income streams * contracts*. Learn how, when and where income is generated in all the current areas of business as well as exploring the new industries offering new income streams and the business models that are developing. The supporting website includes video interviews and podcasts with music business legends. 'If there is anything that Helen Gammons doesn't know about music publishing, it's probably not worth knowing! If you want to take it to the next level in music publishing - read this book. I know I'll be referring to it often.' David 'Hawk' Wolinski Composer of "Aint No Body" (Rufus and Chaka Khan) and one of the most covered songs ever. "Whether you're alreadynbsp;a music publisher or would like to be one, this book will give you a mass of useful information - fresh ideas, up-to-date legal opinions, video interviews with music biz legends, provocative thoughts about where the business is heading, and plenty of good anecdotes." From Simon Napier Bellnbsp; Manager: The Yardbrids, George Michael and Wham, Marc Bolan. Japan.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-01-12
Beyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology by Scott L. PhillipsBeyond Sound: The College and Career Guide in Music Technology is a must-read for anyone who loves music technology and wants to build a career in this competitive, fast-paced and exciting world. It is an outstanding resource for college and high school students, high school career centers,university placement centers, and libraries.Beyond Sound reflects on major technological advancements in recent history and explains why now is the ideal time to start a music technology career. An in-depth consideration of music technology education looks at over 200 schools that offer Music Technology, Music Recording, Music Industry, andMusic Business programs. Beyond Sound considers the differences between BM, BS, BA, and BFA degrees as well as Graduate School, Trade School, and Art school programs. The reader is given the tools to research and make informed decisions about where to go to pursue their own formal music technologyeducation.Beyond Sound provides practical guidance on career preparation, including how to get a great internship, how to land that first job, and how to make connections and move up in the business. Music technology jobs in recording, live sound, television and film, digital media, video games, retail sales,and education are described in great depth and clarity. Successful professionals in each of these fields share their stories, experiences, advice, and suggestions in candid interviews that provide the reader with a rare glimpse inside the professional world of music technology.Author Scott L. Phillips draws on his seventeen-year career as a technology trainer and educator, his scholarly research of music technology programs, and his extensive network of music technology professionals to bring the reader an intimate and accurate view of the exciting world of musictechnology. With this book, the aspiring music technologist will be able to learn about, prepare for, and begin a successful career that goes far Beyond Sound.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
On Staff: A Practical Guide to Starting Your Career in a University Music Department by Donald L. HamannA practical guide to starting a successful career in a music department in higher education, this book thoroughly details the application, interview, and negotiation processes. It offers a wealth of practical information on getting a post, your first days in the post, acquiring tenure and promotion, working with colleagues and administration, beginning your career, and learning about yourself in the higher education setting. This book will show you how to: --Organize your professional experiences in an eye-appealing and easily read CV --Develop attention catching cover letters that avoid common pitfalls and instead create positive, lasting impressions --Create meaningful teaching philosophies and research statements --Acquire effective interview techniques by becoming aware of frequently asked interview questions, the nuances of interview apparel, dining etiquette, and recognizing what committees and administrators are looking for in a candidate --Negotiate job offers effectively And once you get that position, this book will show you how to keep it, to get tenure and promotion, and to be successful in your chosen higher education institution. Visit the comprehensive companion website at www.oup.com/us/onstaff
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Planning Your Piano Success: A Blueprint for Aspiring Musicians by Stewart GordonYoung pianists pursuing a professional career face a barrage of questions, choices, and challenges. In this book, experienced teacher and performer Stewart Gordon offers a new and practical way to approach them by helping readers to plan strategically and build a secure and successful career from the ground up. For decades, Gordon has guided young pianists through the details of how to prepare musically, navigate their college years, and forge a career that will provide a livelihood. In this guide to beginning that musical career, Gordon has assembled the wisdom of decades of teaching: a fundamental body of information emerging pianists will rely on as they work toward their goals. His advice, focused on both mental and practical work, will enhance both motivation and security. Carefully balancing aspiration with reality and inspiration with organization, Gordon creates a blueprint for transforming dreams into achievement, and illustrates his points with examples drawn from the lives of famous musicians. The book also addresses many practical matters, such as developing keyboard technique, acquiring reading and memorizing skills, building repertoire, and balancing the demands of being a musician with living a full life. This volume is a valuable resource for both young pianists and their parents.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The 21st Century Singer: Bridging the Gap Between the University and the World by Susan Mohini KaneThe vast majority of singers with a degree in performance are un- or under-employed in their field. Despite the fact that talented singers are discovered every day, there are far too few jobs in the field of classical music to accommodate all of them, a problem evidenced by regular reports ofopera companies and symphony orchestras closing their doors. Young classical singers, particularly recent graduates of music programs, need not only artistic ability, but also intelligence and an acute business sense to navigate the world of professional singing.In The 21st-Century Singer: Making the Leap from the University into the World , author Susan Mohini Kane has created a user-friendly guide for these recent graduates. Kane combines the benefits of an instructional manual with those of a self-reflective workbook to provide emerging classical singerswith both practical and inspirational advice. She begins with a section on self-evaluation, allowing readers to define what motivates their desire to sing professionally and reflect on their passions, before moving on to career advice. In the sections that follow, Kane presents a variety of careerpaths, such as singing, teaching, and consulting - realistic alternatives to the rise to stardom as an "overnight sensation" that so few will experience - and provides the reader with the tools to develop a concrete plan for whichever path they decide to pursue. Other sections offer instruction onhow to develop support systems, train oneself holistically, and take advantage of the newest technological resources available for professional self-promotion. With its dual emphasis on artistic motivation and modern-day business sense, The 21st-Century Singer will prove an essential text for anyonepursuing a professional singing career.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015-02-06
The Savvy Musician: Building a Career, Earning a Living & Making a Difference by David CutlerSo you're talented, well trained, and passionate about music. What next? The professional marketplace is flooded with outstanding musicians, forced to compete for a shrinking number of ""traditional"" opportunities. The Savvy Musician helps balance three overriding aspects of your professional musical life: (1) building a career, (2) earning a living, and (3) making a difference. Filled with clearly articulated concepts, detailed strategies, and 165 vignettes about actual musicians working to create a meaningful and prosperous career, this book examines critical elements often overlooked or misunderstood by musicians, and helps you take control of your career. Discover how to build an immediately recognizable ""brand,"" capitalize on technologyfrom Internet tools to the new recording paradigm, expand your network, and raise money to fund your dreams. The Savvy Musician is an invaluable resource for performers, composers, educators, students, administrators, industry employees, and others interested in a thriving musical future.
Call Number: ML3790 .C89 2010
Publication Date: 2009-10-26
The Music Industry Handbook by Paul RutterThe Music Industry Handbook, Second edition is an expert resource and guide for all those seeking an authoritative and user-friendly overview of the music industry today. The new edition includes coverage of the latest developments in music streaming, including new business models created by the streaming service sector. There is also expanded exploration of the music industry in different regions of the UK and in other areas of Europe, and coverage of new debates within the music industry, including the impact of copyright extensions on the UK music industry and the business protocols involved when music is used in film and advertising. The Music Industry Handbook, Second edition also includes: in-depth explorations of different elements of the music industry, including the live music sector, the recording industry and the classical music business analysis of business practices across all areas of the industry, including publishing, synchronisation and trading in the music industry profiles presenting interviews with key figures workings in the music industry detailed further reading for each chapter and a glossary of essential music industry terms.
Call Number: ML3790 .R87 2016
Publication Date: 2016-06-29
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by David BaskervilleThe new eighth edition of the Music Business Handbook And Career Guide maintains the tradition of this classic text as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the $100 billion music industry. More than 100,000 students and professionals have turned to earlier editions of the Baskerville Handbook to understand the art, profession, and business of music. Thoroughly revised, the eighth edition includes complete coverage of all aspects of the music industry, including songwriting, publishing, copyright, licensing, artist management, promotion, retailing, media, and much more. There is a complete section on careers in music, including specific advice on getting started in the music business. Generously illustrated with tables and photographs, the Guide also contains a complete appendix with sample copyright forms, writing and publishing agreements, directories of professional organizations, and a comprehensive glossary and index. The eighth edition has been completely updated, with particular emphasis on online music and its impact on the rest of the industry.
Call Number: ML3795 .B33 2006
Publication Date: 2005-06-28
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville; Timothy BaskervilleThe Twelfth Edition of this powerhouse best-selling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity. Readers new to the music business and seasoned professionals alike will find David and Tim Baskerville's handbook the go-to source, regardless of their specialty within the music field. Music Business Handbook and Career Guide is ideal for introductory courses such as Introduction to the Music Business, Music and Media, and other survey courses as well as more specialized courses such as the record industry, music careers, artist management, and more. The fully updated Twelfth Edition includes a comprehensive discussion of the streaming revolution and its impact on all parts of the value chain, including composers, performing artists, publishers, and labels. The book also analyzes shifts in the competing platforms of consumption ranging from fast-shrinking physical formats and broadcasting to downloads and subscription services. This edition offers more vignettes than ever, illustrating how individuals in different industry roles advanced their careers, as well as how they've adjusted to the intertwining influences of technology, law, and culture.
Call Number: ML3795 .B33 2020
Publication Date: 2019-01-30
Guerrilla Film Scoring: Practical Advice from Hollywood Composers by Jeremy BorumAs the movie and music industries have changed, film scoring has become an overwhelmingly independent process. Film composers have more responsibilities than ever before, and they must fulfill them with smaller budgets and shorter schedules. As a result, composers are increasingly becoming armies of one. In Guerrilla Film Scoring: Practical Advice from Hollywood Composers, Jeremy Borum provides valuable guidance on how to make a good film score both quickly and inexpensively. This handbook encompasses the entire film scoring process including education, preparation, writing and recording a score, editing, mixing and mastering, finding work, career development, and sample contracts. Offering strategic tools and techniques, this insider's guide draws on the expertise from a number of prominent composers in movies, television, and video gaming, including Stewart Copeland, Bruce Broughton, and Jack Wall. A straightforward do-it-yourself manual, this book will help composers at all levels create the best-sounding scores quickly and cost effectively--without jeopardizing their art. With access to rare and extremely useful input from the best in the business, Guerrilla Film Scoring will benefit not only students but also professionals looking to update their game.
Call Number: ML3795 .B73 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-16
100 Careers in the Music Business by Tanja L. Crouch; Tanja CrouchThe music industry has undergone radical changes in recent years, but abundant career opportunities still exist for beginners with talent, imagination, and a love of music. The record industry and its dealers have suffered recent setbacks, but most other aspects of the music business continue to flourish--and this book tells beginners how and where to find rewarding jobs. Highly talented singers, song writers, and instrumentalists are always in demand, but many lesser known and rewarding career opportunities exist, with new avenues opening virtually every day. Among job opportunities described in this book are artists' agents and managers, talent agents, sound technicians, film and TV technicians, film and TV production managers, advertising illustrators and copywriters, publicists, and many others. The author tells beginners how to match their own qualifications with potential job openings, seek and find job interviews, and get into the music business. For each job designation, she lists the special skills needed, describes a typical workday, and presents actual case studies of men and women who have found music career openings, and have gone on to make the most of them. Sidebar features include at-a-glance career tips and "voices of experience" notes citing the best and worst things about each job. New in this edition is information on how today's new technologies have influenced careers and created opportunities in the music business. The book's several appendices include lists of names, addresses, and web sites of music unions, organizations, directories, magazines, and schools offering degrees in music business management. There is also a glossary of music business and technical terms.
Call Number: ML3795 .C74 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Music Entrepreneurship by Allan Dumbreck; Gayle McPhersonThe music industries hinge on entrepreneurship. The recent, rapid convergence of media and the parallel ongoing evolution of music businesses have again seen the focus shift to independent companies and individual entrepreneurs. Opportunities tend not to be advertised in professional music and practically everyone begins on their own: forming a band, starting a record label, running events, or building a website. But it's not an easy territory to navigate or get a handle on. Music Entrepreneurship features an analysis of the changing landscape of the music industries and the value of the entrepreneur within them through a series of focused chapters and case studies. Alongside contributions from key academics across the globe, expert contributors from across the industry highlight successful entrepreneurs and offers practical help to the reader trying to navigate the business. Sectors examined include: The value of the music industries Recorded music Live events Branding in music Artist management Digital distribution
Making It: The Artist's Survival Guide by Jasa; Noah CharneyWhat Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential did for the world of chefs and restaurants, Making It does for the art world.Making It is a gonzo memoir of an established artist crossed with objective advice, tips and tricks fleshed out by a best-selling art historian and Pulitzer finalist writer on art. It peels back the shroud and reveals the highs and struggles in the life and career of a working artist. Specifically aimed at aspiring artists and art students, it will be of interest to anyone who wants to know what it is like to have an artist's-eye-view of the art world, asking the tough and often glossed-over questions that rising artists inevitably have, not only about the creative process, but about navigating the turbulent waters of the social, professional, academic, critical, museum and trade elements of a career as a visual artist. How best to deal with the abundance of alcohol, drugs and sex while wire-walking your own artistic dilemmas? How can an artist launch his or her career and help it flourish? What's it like to achieve every artist's dream, including showing at the Venice Biennale? What does it really mean to "make it" and how can you maintain your groove once you've arrived? All these questions and more are answered in this combination tell-all memoir and how-to manual for rising artists and anyone wanting a behind-the-scenes tour of what it's like to be an artist.
Call Number: N7255.S563 J37 2021
Publication Date: 2021-08-15
The Artist's Compass: The Complete Guide to Building a Life and a Living in the Performing Arts by Rachel MooreAn inspiring, real world guide for artists in the classic bestselling tradition of What Color Is Your Parachute? that shows how to build a successful, stable career in the performing arts, from the President and CEO of the Los Angeles Music Center who has carved her own success through her creative talent and business skill. While performing artists have many educational opportunities to perfect their craft, they are often on their own when it comes to learning the business skills necessary to launch their careers. At the end of the day, show business is, well, a business. In The Artist's Compass, Los Angeles Music Center CEO Rachel Moore shares how to make life as a performer more successful, secure, and sustainable by approaching a career in the arts like an entrepreneur. A former dancer in the American Ballet Theatre's corps de ballet, Moore knows firsthand what it's like to struggle and succeed as an artist. Now in an offstage role as CEO, Moore shares the hard-won lessons she's learned about making one's own success and encourages every performer to develop creative talent alongside marketable skills. With testimonials from artists like Lang Lang, Sigourney Weaver, and Renee Fleming, plus inspiring anecdotes from Moore's own journey in the arts, The Artist's Compass teaches aspiring performers how to think like an entrepreneur to create their own brand and marketing platform to achieve personal and professional success. In an engaging, realistic, and authoritative voice, Moore combines her artistic and corporate experience to address the finer points of building a career in a challenging industry, teaching young performers how to achieve financial independence so that they might have creative independence.
This organization offers tax assistance for those in the entertainment industry; it is one of several industry-specific tax preparation resources.
Make sure to always have a passport that is active and non-expired. Some companies will not allow you to travel if your passport expiration date is within a six month period. DO NOT wait until the last minute to renew.
Small Business Administration
Through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), you can research various business types, find mentors, learn what paperwork is required to set up your business, and investigate financing options.