"Since May of 1998, a group of CalArts students, alumni and faculty have engaged in a series of discussions and workshops regarding the feminist programs that took place here in the Seventies: WOMANHOUSE, the Feminist Art Program, and the Women's Design Program. Not having lived through this period, we look to the generation that did to share their experiences with us; having experienced many of the transmutations of feminism since, we also ask what it means to negotiate a feminist practice today.
Our goal is to produce the following: two series of events, the first to take place in October of this year, and the second to coincide with CalArts' Thirtieth Anniversary celebrations in the year 2000. Series I, entitled "The F-Word: Contemporary Feminisms and the Legacy of the Los Angeles Feminist Art Movement", functions with the combined purpose of collecting archival materials and information as well as inspiring the topics for the year 2000 series. This will be done through a Web site for collecting information, an exhibition, performances, an reception and dinner with participants of the CalArts feminist programs, a one-day working symposium [...] We propose Series II to include: a large exhibition of works by the former participants in the seventies programs and the current workshop members, a reading room, performances, a symposium, the expanded web site, and a publication."
- calarts.edu/~thefword, via the Wayback Machine
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
The F Word poster designed by Andrea Tinnes (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collections
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Feminist Art Workshop Reader (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Reading Room Call For Reviews, Feminist Art Workshop (1998)
California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection
Reverberating Feminisms: Chronologies of Feminist Art Movements at CalArts exhibition and accompanying guides were compiled by the CalArts Library. If you have any questions or suggestions about the exhibition, please contact us at libref@calarts.edu.