CalArts Institute Archives and Digital Collections
CalArts Archives Feminist Art Materials Collection 
The California Institute of the Arts Archives Feminist Art Materials Collection contains articles, brochures, correspondence, exhibition catalogs, invoices, newsletters, and other materials documenting the influence of feminism on the training of artists and the making of art.
CalArts Archives Womanhouse Collection
Womanhouse (January 30 – February 28, 1972) was a feminist art installation and performance space organized by Judy Chicago and Miriam Schapiro, co-founders of the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) Feminist Art Program. Images in this collection include slides, publications, documents, and ephemera related to Womanhouse that are contained in the CalArts Archives Feminist Art Materials Collection.
CalArts Register of Women Artists
The Register of Women Artists was compiled and edited by Connie Jenkins with the assistance of Vaughan Kaprow using the Women Artists' Slide Collection at California Institute of the Arts. Published by the Feminist Art Program.
CalArts Institute Archives Feminist Art Materials Finding Aid 
The California Institute of the Arts Feminist Art Materials Collection contains articles, brochures, correspondence, exhibition catalogs, invoices, newsletters, and other materials documenting the influence of feminism on the training of artists and the making of art. The collection covers the years 1971 to 2007 with the bulk of the material ranging from 1972 to 1977.
External Archives and Resources
Information about Judy Chicago and the archives that house her collections.
Judy Chicago Art Education Collection at Penn State
The Judy Chicago Art Education Collection is a living archive on feminist art education. The Collection lives from continued scholarship and teaching in counterbalance to ongoing tendencies of erasure of feminist histories and feminist pedagogy. The participatory architecture of the Collection website invites the voices of many to develop a feminist art education generative archive.
Miriam Schapiro Archives on Women Artists
The Miriam Schapiro Archives on Women Artists works to document, preserve, and make available to researchers postwar American women’s art history. Our collections include individual artist’s papers, feminist institutional papers, and various registries of women artists.
Miriam Schapiro scrapbooks, 1951-1981
Four scrapbooks compiled by Miriam Schapiro document her career as a painter, sculptor, and printmaker.
Lucy R. Lippard papers, 1930s-2010, bulk 1960-1990
The papers of New York and New Mexico writer, art critic, and curator, Lucy R. Lippard, measure 70.5 linear feet and 0.454 GB and date from the 1930s to 2007, with the bulk of the material dating from the 1960s to the 1990s.
Oral history interview with Suzanne Lacy, 1990 Mar. 16-Sept. 27
An interview of Suzanne Lacy conducted 1990 Mar. 16-Sept. 27, by Moira Roth, for the Archives of American Art, Women in the Arts in Southern California Oral History Project, in Berkeley, California.
!Women Art Revolution: Voices of a Movement
The artists’ and critics’ interviews presented here chronicle the founding years of the feminist art movement in the 1970s. While focusing on the events of that decade and the following, these narratives also discuss the impact of the civil rights, anti-war, and women’s rights movements.
The feminist art movement of the 1970s set off an explosion of artmaking and analysis that still reverberates in the art world today, and the Woman's Building in Los Angeles was one of the major centers of activity. Founded by Judy Chicago, Sheila de Bretteville and Arlene Raven in 1973 the Woman's Building organized, sponsored and fostered numerous programs, activities, and artists' groups. Educational programs included classes in visual arts, graphic design and the printing arts, performance art, video and literary arts.
The Feminist Center for Creative Work
The Feminist Center for Creative Work values transparency, and we invite you to get to know us better. Dig into the core values that drive us, who we are, our history, how we’re funded, and more.
Recommended Articles
Bowers, Andrea, et al. “‘Necessary Positions’ in Feminist Art: A Conversation.” Art Journal, vol. 71, no. 1, 2012, pp. 138–50, http://www.jstor.org/stable/23279675.
Joan Braderman, et al. “Heresies: A Feminist Publication on Arts & Politics.” Heresies: A Feminist Publication on Arts & Politics, vol. 1, no. 1 (1), Jan. 1977, https://jstor.org/stable/community.28038300.
Brooke, Kaucyila. "She Does Not See What She Does Not Know." X-tra, vol 6, no. 3, Spring 2004, pp. 19-26, https://kaucyilabrooke.com/she-does-not-see-what-she-does-not-know
Brown, Kay, et al. “Feminist Art Journal.” Feminist Art Journal, vol. 1, no. 1, Apr. 1972, https://jstor.org/stable/community.28036280.
Butler, Connie. “This Is Art—These People Are Artists: ‘Pacific Standard Time’, Conceptual Art, and Other Momentous Events from a Local Point of View.” Art Journal, vol. 71, no. 1, 2012, pp. 38–57, http://www.jstor.org/stable/23279668.
Carbone, Kathy. “Dear Sister Artist: Activating Feminist Art Letters and Ephemera in the Archive,” in “Radical Empathy in Archival Practice,” eds. Elvia Arroyo-Ramirez, Jasmine Jones, Shannon O’Neill, and Holly Smith. Journal of Critical Library and Information Studies 3, 2020, pp. 1-24, https://doi.org/10.24242/jclis.v3i2.128
Chan, Audrey, et al. “Rupture and Continuity in Feminist Re-Performance.” Afterall: A Journal of Art, Context and Enquiry, no. 33, 2013, pp. 38–45, https://doi.org/10.1086/672018.
Collins, Lisa Gail. “Activists Who Yearn for Art That Transforms: Parallels in the Black Arts and Feminist Art Movements in the United States.” Signs, vol. 31, no. 3, 2006, pp. 717–52, https://doi.org/10.1086/498991.
Fields, Jill. “Frontiers in Feminist Art History.” Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies, vol. 33, no. 2, 2012, pp. 1–21, https://doi.org/10.5250/fronjwomestud.33.2.0001.
Gerhard, Jane. “Judy Chicago and the Practice of 1970s Feminism.” Feminist Studies, vol. 37, no. 3, 2011, pp. 591–618, http://www.jstor.org/stable/23069923.
Gouma-Peterson, Thalia, and Patricia Mathews. “The Feminist Critique of Art History.” The Art Bulletin, vol. 69, no. 3, 1987, pp. 326–57, https://doi.org/10.2307/3051059.
Keifer-Boyd, Karen. “From Content to Form: Judy Chicago’s Pedagogy with Reflections by Judy Chicago.” Studies in Art Education, vol. 48, no. 2, 2007, pp. 134–54, http://www.jstor.org/stable/25475816.
Klein, Jennie. "Doin' It in Public: Feminism and Art at the Woman's Building." Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies, vol. 33 no. 2, 2012, p. 129-136, https://doi.org/10.1353/fro.2012.a483544.
Klein, Jennie. “Goddess: Feminist Art and Spirituality in the 1970s.” Feminist Studies, vol. 35, no. 3, 2009, pp. 575–602, http://www.jstor.org/stable/40608393.
Muchnic, Suzanne. "Feminism Looks to the Horizons; A CalArts Symposium Brings Together Leading Artists to Address the Big Questions.: [HOME EDITION]." Los Angeles Times, Mar 12, 2007, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/feminism-looks-horizons-calarts-symposium-brings/docview/422155141/se-2.
Musteata, Natalie. "Judy Chicago, Miriam Schapiro, and the CalArts feminist art program, Womanhouse (1972)." The Artist as Curator #10, no. 51, 2015, pp. 1-16, https://www.proquest.com/scholarly-journals/judy-chicago-miriam-schapiro-calarts-feminist-art/docview/1775345145/se-2.
Regal, Sam. "Democracy of Feeling: Auratic Artists’ Books at the Women’s Graphic Center." East of Borneo, Aug. 3, 2023, eastofborneo.org/articles/democracy-of-feeling/.
Sandell, Renee. “Feminist Art Education: An Analysis of the Women’s Art Movement As an Educational Force.” Studies in Art Education, vol. 20, no. 2, 1979, pp. 18–28, https://doi.org/10.2307/1319538.
Sarbanes, Janet. “On Educating for Autonomy and the Early Years of CalArts.” Letters on the Autonomy Project, Punctum Books, 2022, pp. 157–68, http://www.jstor.org/stable/j.ctv2mm2113.20.
Schor, Mira. “A Plague of Polemics.” Art Journal, vol. 50, no. 4, 1991, pp. 36–41, https://doi.org/10.2307/777321.
Strauss, Alix. "Women, Art and the Houses They Built: [SpecialSections]." New York Times, Mar 15, 2018, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/women-art-houses-they-built/docview/2013703386/se-2.
Wilding, Faith, and Critical Art Ensemble. “Notes on the Political Condition of Cyberfeminism.” Art Journal, vol. 57, no. 2, 1998, pp. 46–59, https://doi.org/10.2307/778008.
Wilding, Faith, and Irina Aristarkhova. “Undoing Waiting.” Arrested Welcome: Hospitality in Contemporary Art, University of Minnesota Press, 2020, pp. 29–56, https://doi.org/10.5749/j.ctv1220r8x.5.
Reverberating Feminisms: Chronologies of Feminist Art Movements at CalArts exhibition and accompanying guides were compiled by the CalArts Library. If you have any questions or suggestions about the exhibition, please contact us at libref@calarts.edu.