Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Video Guide for Online Classes

Video Streaming Guide for Online Classes

Library Streaming Video Databases

Open Access Databases

These streaming video resources are not licensed by the CalArts Library, but are freely available.


American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Contains thousands of original PBS and NPR broadcasts from the mid-20th century to present.


Critical Commons
Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts. Please note that Critical Commons is not affiliated in any way with Creative Commons.


FolkStreams
Folkstreams is a non-profit dedicated to finding, preserving, contextualizing, and showcasing documentary films on American traditional cultures.


Museum of the Moving Image – Moving Image Source Research Guide
Moving Image Source Research Guide is a gateway to various online film, television, and digital media resources.


Internet Archive
Free library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. It is a little difficult to navigate, but it is absolutely loaded with usable content.


Library of Congress Digital Collections
A source for public domain image resources, as well as audio, video, and archived Web content.


Moving Image Resource Center (Library of Congress)
Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable on the Library's Digital Collections web page.


National Film Board of Canada
NFB's online Screening Room features over 3,000 titles which can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for your personal use for a small fee. Includes documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works. Films take a stand on issues of global importance—stories about the environment, human rights, international conflict, the arts and more.


National Screening Room
Showcases the Library of Congress' vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide. Offers a broad range of historical and cultural content.


Paper Tiger Television
A non-profit video collective that produces and distributes public and social video, community screenings, and grassroots advocacy, PTTV works to challenge and expose the corporate control of mainstream media. Paper Tiger has digitized its video collection of over 330 programs spanning from 1981 to the present.


Prelinger Archives (via Archive.org)
Over 2000 films including stock footage, old commercials, and other materials. Freely available for download and reuse under the Creative Commons license.


Ubu Web
Streams art clips and avant-garde artists’ videos.

 

CalArts Library
24700 McBean Pkwy
Valencia, CA 91355
661.253.7889

About the Library
Research Support
Contact Us
Visitors