Research Support:Copyright Guidance

Contact Librarians for help and more information:

Marisa Mendez-Brady:  mmendezbrady@calarts.edu
Samuel Crawford:   scrawford@calarts.edu
Karen Baxter:   kbaxter@calarts.edu

chat loading...

Streaming Video for Online Instruction

Guidance for Faculty for online instruction during campus restrictions. You may be able to further utilize licensed content by using E-Reserves.

COPYRIGHT
These guidelines follow best practices developed by colleges and universities in consideration of the U.S. copyright law (Title 17, United States Code).  The COVID-19 crisis necessitates the emergency transition to online classes. Given these exigent circumstances colleges and universities are relying heavily on ‘fair use’ to provide resources for online classes.

Public Statement of Library Copyright Specialists:  Fair Use & Emergency Remote Teaching & Research

GUIDELINES
Streaming video and video clips used in online courses must be:

  • Essential to the course.  
  • Provided to students at the instructor’s direction during the relevant class.
  • Accessible only to students enrolled in the course within a password protected website or course management system and only for the duration of the course.
  • Protected from further distribution. No retention by students or faculty. No downloading or stream capture.

Copyright Notice -  Post to your Course website:
The materials on this course website are only for the use of students enrolled in this course for purposes associated with this course, and may not be retained or further disseminated.  The materials on this course website are protected by copyright; any further use of this material may be in violation of U.S. copyright law.

 

Database Articles & Streaming Audio for Online Instruction

Guidance for Faculty for online instruction during campus restrictions. You may be able to further utilize licensed content by using E-Reserves.

Articles
What to Do

  • Provide a link to the full-text article in the Library subscription database.
  • Do not post the article PDF to Learn Online, Google Drive or Zoom.

Legal Context
Databases which contain full-text articles have unique provisions for copyright.  Legal printed copies of articles accessed by searching full-text databases are obtained by using the Print command on the web browser, through the Find menu or by pressing the Print button. Any number of copies may be printed this way and will be legal under the licensing agreements CalArts Library and SCELC have with the vendor. Each time the Print command is executed through the browser, the database owner is informed of the copy or copies being printed and can then send appropriate royalties to the rightsholder of the article.

Copies of articles printed from databases may not be photocopied. Articles generated this way are in violation of copyright agreements.

Streaming Audio Files
What to Do

  • Provide a link to the audio file in the Library subscription database.
  • Do not post the audio file to Learn Online, Google Drive or Zoom

Legal Context
Databases which contain audio streaming files have unique provisions for copyright.  Legal access to the audio file is obtain by students when they directly access the content in the subscription database.

CalArts Library
24700 McBean Pkwy
Valencia, CA 91355
661.253.7889

About the Library
Research Support
Contact Us
Visitors