Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Film & Image Services

Register an Artstor Account

Artstor collections are only accessible to current CalArt students, faculty, and staff with registered Artstor accounts. We cannot provide access to alumni or public users. To register an Artstor account follow these steps:

When connected to a campus WiFi network:

When off campus:

  • Go to CalArts Library homepage
  • Click Find Databases > select Artstor > click Go
  • Login using your MyLibrary Account
  • Click Register at the top right corner of the screen

COVID-19 Exception: Faculty may send us their class email addresses and we'll register an account for all of their enrolled students.

If you have any trouble registering an account, contact Image Services Manager. We can manually register an account for you.


Artstor Digital Collections

We are constantly expanding the Library’s digital collections. If you have an idea for a digital collection, please contact us.
The following digital collections can be accessed via Artstor: 


CalArts Visual Resource Collection
Images requested by faculty and students since approximately 2006 for teaching, research, and study.

 

 


CalArts Artist Book Collection
Contains representative images of over 1,700 books from the CalArts Artist Book Collection. Artist books include, but are not limited to, handmade books; small independent and fine press books; books designed and created by artists including CalArts students, alumni and faculty; as well as graphic novels and comics. The collection contains many books created by conceptual, Fluxus, and feminist artists during the 1960s, 1970s, and 1980s.


CalArts MFA Graphic Design Book Collection
School of Art Graphic Design graduate students' books created from 2002 – 2015 that represent a culmination of their work at CalArts.

 

 


CalArts Tiny Press Practices Collection
Literary Citizenship: Tiny Press Practices was a class offered in Critical Studies from 2010 to 2016 that involved hands-on exploration of contemporary, autonomous, small, and micro-press practices as they relate to a poetics of community accountability. Each participant in the class created a text-based object using various techniques related to bookmaking. The Library received one copy of each student's work. This digital collection contains representative images of each book object that was donated.


CalArts Archives Womanhouse Collection 
Womanhouse (January 30 – February 28, 1972) was a feminist art installation and performance space organized by Judy Chicago and Miriam Schapiro, co-founders of the California Institute of the Arts (CalArts) Feminist Art Program. Images in this collection include slides, publications, documents, and ephemera related to Womanhouse that are contained in the CalArts Archives Feminist Art Materials Collection.


 

CalArts Library
24700 McBean Pkwy
Valencia, CA 91355
661.253.7889

About the Library
Research Support
Contact Us
Visitors